My vision of Leadership

 Introduction

The main objective of this blog is to identify my own style of leadership and how the leader I inspire influenced me to develop my leadership skills. Followed by my vision an reflection on my personal leadership style and finally concluded by discussing about my leadership skills I target to achieve through my MBA course in Global Business.

Who has Inspired my Understanding of Effective Leadership?

Effective leadership is refers to a relationship through which one person influences the behavior and actions of other people. (Mullins 2013: 783)

Leadership involves different levels and styles which can be adapted in different situations and to performs various operations and a goof leader is the one who is self-aware, and have potential to influence others by managing and serving diverse people. (Pallavi07culc 2014: blog 3)

When you boil it down to the basics, the hotel business is about service

                                                                                                -Bill Marriott

Bill Marriott, The executive chairman and chairman of the board of Marriott international, portrays perfect image for the hotel lodging industry. His beliefs and values and vision towards hospitality industry, signifies the symbol of excellence. His core values aims to put people at the top of the priority list followed by embracing change and serving the diverse world. He believes in embracing change by innovation leading to growth of the organization.(Pallavi07culc 2015: Blog 4)

Bill Marriott started from a small family restraint and now he owns worlds most known and lodging company including 3,700 properties spread worldwide in hospitality industry.

He adapts democratic leadership style, which involves it group members while taking any decision, and the more power of focus is with the group as whole. Mr. Marriot always encouraged the opinions and views of his members. (Pallavi07culc 2014: blog 3)

His first and foremost priority is people. People he’s working with, people he is serving including customers ad people forming a society. He believes in acting with integrity and treating his workforce

In the above video Bill Marriott on 85th anniversary of Marriott International Hotel talks about his journey till date and teach some leadership lessons from his 85 years of running and succeeding in a business. He believes if its very important to take care of your people so they take care of customers well. It’s important to take care of minute details and get out to know what is actually going on. His workforce love and follow the way he works without sitting on the desk ever and consistently working hard. (Blog. Marriott 2015)

1

Bill Marriott received several awards and recognitions for his excellence. There are stories written on his awards of excellence. Marriott International has been recognized as a best place to work. It is known for its commitment to diversity, social responsibility and initiating community welfare.(Marriott News Center, 2015)

Who has inspired my understanding of effective leadership?

As I am seeking to pursue a fruitful career in the hotel sector of hospitality industry in future, Bill Marriott is a person who immensely inspires me with his effective leadership skills leading to efficient and successful business. His 85 years of experience in hospitality industry itself tells a lot about him and his leadership style. His passion related to hospitality industry, and views, moral and core values, beliefs inspire me to go give a kick-start to my career the similar sector by putting even greater efforts.

The democratic leadership style approach he adapted and his core aim to serve the people are the main principles, which I adore and want to follow in my business phase.

Leadership Skills I aim to develop through the progression of my MBA

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 4.06.40 PM

To be great and successful leader you need to have leadership skills within yourself, which include stating of ideas in the form of vision, forming a strategy, by planning and team working to achieve that vision. One should know to improve, focus and learn being capable enough to adapt changes.

The nature of my MBA course in global business helps me to develop these skills. I need to sharpen on my leadership skills while pursuing my MBA, so that I can synergies my skills while working in hospitality sector in future.

I can improve my leadership skills by receiving feedback from my tutors and peers and also getting involved in-group works, projects and presentations and giving my best.

 References

8 thoughts on “My vision of Leadership

  1. As you talked about leadership skill you want to achieve. Could you explain how you will be able to achieve that.

    Like

Leave a comment